LeRoy Sheldon Palmer (1887-1944) published his thesis work entitled “Carotin – The Principal Yellow Pigment in Milk Fat” in 1914 at the University of Missouri. It was one of the first papers to apply a chromatographic separation to a real-life problem and it closely followed Tswetts controversial pioneering work. He moved to the University of Minnesota in 1919 in the field of dairy science. In 1922 Palmer’s monograph was the first such volume published by the American Chemical Society and is generally credited with popularizing chromatography and providing specific applications which sparked interest in the area.

Nominations may be submitted on this nomination form . Additional documentation (e.g. a full vitae) may also be submitted. Nominators will be contacted to verify receipt of their nomination and also to secure additional information if required. Nominations must be received by the Chair of the Palmer Award Committee by December 6 for consideration for the upcoming award. Nominations will remain active for three years.

The Palmer Award Committee consists of three members known only to the MCF past-president, the chair of the Palmer Committee. The committee chair circulates the nominations among the committee members. The Palmer Award winner for the year is selected by committee consensus via blind balloting.

The Award
The Palmer Award was created to recognize and to encourage the art and science of chromatography, in particular as it is related to the membership of the MCF. It is given to those individuals whose professional as well as scientific accomplishments have fostered progress in chromatography. The award consists of a plaque, suitably inscribed, which is presented at the MCF Spring Symposium. The first Palmer Award was received by Leslie Ettre in 1980 (appropriately, since Dr. Ettre was primarily responsible for calling Palmer’s career achievements to our attention).

Minnesota Chromatography Forum Palmer Award Winners

1980                Leslie S. Ettre (The Perkin-Elmer Corp., Norwalk, CT)

1981                Larry Bell (Larry Bell & Associates, Hopkins, MN)

1982                Donald F. Hagen (3M Company, St. Paul, MN)

1983                Walter G. Jennings (University of California, Davis, CA)

1984                Peter W. Carr (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)

1985                Lloyd R. Snyder (LC Resources, Inc., Orinda, CA)
Larry D. Bowers (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

1986                Susan M. Price (Twin City Testing Corp., St. Paul, MN)
Mark L. Brenner (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)

1987                James S. Fritz (Iowa State University, Ames, IA)

1988                Jonathon W. De Vries (General Mills, Minneapolis, MN)

1989                Shoukry K. W. Khalil (North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND)

1990                Kay N. Olson (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)

1991                Craig G. Markell (3M Company, St. Paul, MN)

1992                Gary A. Reineccius (University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN)

1993                Dennis C. Johnson (Iowa State University, Ames, IA)

1994                Edward S. Yeung (Iowa State University, Ames, IA)

1995                John A. Freeburg (Hewlett-Packard Co. St. Paul, MN)

1996                James M. Broge (Sandoz Nutrition, St. Louis Park, MN)

1997                Wils B. Bergstrom (Retired, formerly St. Paul Tech. Institute, St. Paul, MN)

1998                Patricia H. Sackett (3M Pharmaceuticals, St. Paul, MN)

1999                Steve Pierson (Chrom Tech, Inc., Apple Valley, MN)

2000                Peter Johnson –  3M Pharmaceuticals, St. Paul, MN

2001                David J. Ehresman – 3M

2002                John Dolan – LC Resources

2003                Daron Decker – Agilent Technologies

2006                Ron Majors – Agilent Technologies

2008                Larry Felice

2009                Robert E. Synovec – University of Washington

2011                Richard Henry

2012                Mark R. Schure – Dow Chemical Company

2013                Leann Higgins – University of Minnesota

2014                Dr. Hernan Cortes

2015                Stephen Weber – University of Pittsburgh

2016                Dwight Stoll – Gustavus Adolphus College

2017                 Tony Borgerding – University of St. Thomas

2018                 Doug Raynie – South Dakota State University

2019                 Paul Mahaffy – NASA Goddard Space Center